1. Welcome to Jeeps.net!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Jeep discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Jeep owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Water temperature Gauge

Discussion in 'Wrangler TJ (1996-2006)' started by RugerRedhawk44mag, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. Aug 9, 2018 at 12:55 PM
    #1
    RugerRedhawk44mag

    RugerRedhawk44mag [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    CT
    Water temperature Gauge

    I have 2005 tj 4.0 auto trans. Where is the water temperature Sending unit at? That runs the temperature gauge in the dash.It’s not on top either side back by the fire wall area nor is it on the drivers Side of the block near the water drain plug. And it is not the one in the thermostat housing. Which is the senor. For the computer.
     
  2. Aug 9, 2018 at 1:41 PM
    #2
    Prerunner1982

    Prerunner1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Member:
    #1745
    Messages:
    535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Vehicle:
    93 XJ 2 door, 97 XJ 4 door, 00 XJ 4 door
    Welcome from Oklahoma.

    Most of my knowledge is in the XJs (Cherokee) however they have much of the same components and somewhere around 99 the XJs went to one temp sensor in the thermostat housing for both the computer and the gauge.
    Prior to that the gauge sending unit was in the head on the driver's side. Being a 2005 it probably doesn't even have a hole there.
     
    aggrex likes this.
  3. Aug 9, 2018 at 1:48 PM
    #3
    aggrex

    aggrex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    1,706
    DE
    Vehicle:
    Backcountry '16
    Tuffy>AEV>TTO>JW>STech>EVOcage>MagnaFlow>SpiderTrax>RockHard>TF>SpringTail>67design>Bolt>GPCA>Curt>
    Welcome!
     
  4. Aug 9, 2018 at 1:50 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Member:
    #2
    Messages:
    3,407
    Gender:
    Male
    Welcome aboard!
     
  5. Aug 9, 2018 at 3:18 PM
    #5
    RugerRedhawk44mag

    RugerRedhawk44mag [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    CT
    Hello all, thanks for the welcomes.
    Jon thanks for the speedy reply.
    And that is what I’ve been reading where ever I go! But I’ve been doing some playing around with temp senders/ sensors thing for a good bit. With a good cold motor I’ve pulled the plug off the sensor in the stat housing, both gauges stock one in dash and and aftermarket one I had installed both reading zero.started her up and got CEL which we knew would glow. Duck tape did nice fix on it.. as the motor warmed up both gauges started to climb. And I upped my game one more step, and hooked the OBD2 and monitored engine temp there also. But never got a temp reading on the OBD2! But both gauges went to operating temp. Then plug wires back on sensor. And got readings at all three points any Thoughts?
     
  6. Aug 9, 2018 at 3:33 PM
    #6
    Squatchy

    Squatchy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Member:
    #2428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 hyper green jku
    That’s interesting. With the jeep at operating temp start unplugging sensors that are in the water jacket of the head or block. When the sensor goes to zero I would say you found it.
     
    JKBob 25 likes this.
  7. Aug 9, 2018 at 4:01 PM
    #7
    RugerRedhawk44mag

    RugerRedhawk44mag [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    CT
    Yes I’ve been over this thing Flashlight and Mirror nothing yet. An it is interesting that kinda why I’m on a hunt lol. What started this whole thing was. The aftermarket gauge i wanted to tee into it. An it grew too this. I have no problems with the setup now it’s just something there and kinda like to sort it out. Being a steam boiler operator for 35 years I’ve seen my share of gauges,senders,sensors, transmitters etc and they all get a Signal from some where!
     
  8. Aug 9, 2018 at 4:03 PM
    #8
    Awrench

    Awrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Member:
    #2303
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3 jeeps
    quick check shows 1 sensor at thermostat?

    SO what is the issue, are there any codes... will check deeper knowing what i am chasing?
     
  9. Aug 9, 2018 at 4:13 PM
    #9
    Awrench

    Awrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Member:
    #2303
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3 jeeps
    what codes are stored - us a scanner to access. POST all codes.

    probe ECT with scanner look at the ECT return voltage, OR probe signal return...and referance see attachment...

    is aftermarket POS a 12v gauge?
    I suspect the gauge is an issue remove wiring from ECT for now - repair jeep then we can look at install.
    I gotta ask WHY 2 temp gauges?

    ect2.jpg
     
  10. Aug 9, 2018 at 4:21 PM
    #10
    RugerRedhawk44mag

    RugerRedhawk44mag [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    CT
    Awench no issue so to speak. I’m chasing down where the dash temp gauge is getting it Signal from. Only code was the one I make by pulling wires off the sensor in the stat housing.
     
  11. Aug 9, 2018 at 5:06 PM
    #11
    Awrench

    Awrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Member:
    #2303
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3 jeeps
    The dash gauge gets signal from PCM over the PCI/BUS, the PCM gets sensor reading from the ECT return signal.
     
  12. Aug 9, 2018 at 7:44 PM
    #12
    RugerRedhawk44mag

    RugerRedhawk44mag [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    CT
    So the ECT would need to be plugged in for the dash gauge too work?
     
  13. Aug 10, 2018 at 6:31 AM
    #13
    Awrench

    Awrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Member:
    #2303
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3 jeeps
    Your question suggest you have a thought beyond the statement - obviously, there are some caveats*, but without a sensor no info to display.

    * details - Will hold last known temp for @12 minutes then drop amd set code.
     
To Top