1. Welcome to Jeeps.net!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Jeep discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Jeep owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Changed sensor but speedometer still won't work

Discussion in 'Wrangler TJ (1996-2006)' started by James schultheiss, Jan 7, 2018.

  1. Jan 7, 2018 at 7:14 AM
    #1
    James schultheiss

    James schultheiss [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Member:
    #2077
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alan
    Vehicle:
    2004 jeep.rubicon
    Lifted,intake. Superchip.
    Had check engine light come on. Ran codes came up with p1692 speedo sensor. Put new sensor and still speedometer will not work. Any suggestions please. I dont want to buy a new pcu unless I have to.
     
  2. Jan 7, 2018 at 7:27 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Member:
    #2
    Messages:
    3,468
    Gender:
    Male
    Welcome aboard! Try disconnecting the battery for a bit, then re connecting? That should clear the code.
     
    JKBob 25 and aggrex like this.
  3. Jan 7, 2018 at 8:57 AM
    #3
    James schultheiss

    James schultheiss [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Member:
    #2077
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alan
    Vehicle:
    2004 jeep.rubicon
    Lifted,intake. Superchip.
    Tried that too left barrier unhooked for about a min. This all happened when i put a set of axillary terminals on battery. Right when i started it i had the code and the speedometer stopped working. Bought new sensor and dis every thing I new possible to clear codes. Even have a shop try to clear codes. Could it not be grounding the sensor I mean? I don't want.to by a new pic and then find I have same problem. Where would the sensor ground usually locayed.
     
  4. Jan 7, 2018 at 9:02 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Member:
    #2
    Messages:
    3,468
    Gender:
    Male
    If this started after a light installation, I would go thru the light wiring and check for the issue there.
     
    OFFGRID likes this.
  5. Jan 7, 2018 at 9:52 AM
    #5
    OFFGRID

    OFFGRID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Member:
    #317
    Messages:
    1,936
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    1979 Jeep CJ7, 258, TH350, NP208
    Howell fuel injection, header, HEI distributor, TH350, NP208, SOA lift with YJ springs in the front & GW springs in the Rear. AMC20 with G2 1 piece chromos trussed, Dana 30 with G2 chromos and 760x ujoints and MM Stainless Hubs, Geared 4.56. Tom Woods shafts, Metal cloaks, Caged, 37" Toyo MTs.
    I believe the sensor grounds out to the Tcase. I am with Chris in that I would reverse the work leading up to the problem and see if that fixes your issues. Check all of your fuses too. You have fuses under the hood on the passenger front fender and you have fuses behind your glove box.
     
    chris4x4 likes this.
  6. Jan 7, 2018 at 9:56 AM
    #6
    aggrex

    aggrex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    1,839
    DE
    Vehicle:
    Backcountry '16
    Tuffy>AEV>TTO>JW>STech>EVOcage>MagnaFlow>SpiderTrax>RockHard>TF>SpringTail>67design>Bolt>GPCA>Curt>
    Welcome! Completely undo whatever you have done prior to the new issue. Don't jump to conclusion on major stuff just yet.
     
  7. Jan 7, 2018 at 10:19 AM
    #7
    aggrex

    aggrex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    1,839
    DE
    Vehicle:
    Backcountry '16
    Tuffy>AEV>TTO>JW>STech>EVOcage>MagnaFlow>SpiderTrax>RockHard>TF>SpringTail>67design>Bolt>GPCA>Curt>
    Check all your connections, ground, correct sensor part, etc

    transfercase.jpg
     
  8. Jan 7, 2018 at 2:26 PM
    #8
    mudbug85603

    mudbug85603 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Member:
    #2053
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Upstate SC
    '98 SE Super 35 D30w/Aussie Core 4x4 arms, JKS and Metalcloak trackbars
    2004, is that a gear driven speedo or the electronic??? I know they changed right in that time frame.
    If it's gear driven are you sure you have the VSS installed correctly? Should be numbers on the VSS to match the tooth count on the gear. Those number should be facing down when installed in the tail cone, if they aren't the gears won't mesh and the speedo won't work..

    VSS housing.jpg
     
  9. Jan 7, 2018 at 3:56 PM
    #9
    James schultheiss

    James schultheiss [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Member:
    #2077
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alan
    Vehicle:
    2004 jeep.rubicon
    Lifted,intake. Superchip.
    Not gear driven a round sensor in the transfer case but thanks
    Still trying to.trace grounds. Just the way it went out when i changed the terminals on the battery makes it sound like.it could be ground issue.
     
    mudbug85603 likes this.
  10. Jan 7, 2018 at 6:51 PM
    #10
    JKBob 25

    JKBob 25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Member:
    #1197
    Messages:
    2,846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Jersey Shore, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2016 JK Wrangler Sport
    2" Superlift kit. 315/ 70/17.
    Welcome to the forum. I'm lousey at electrical issues. But it looks like your in good hands. I've learned alot from these guys. And still learning from this thread.
     
  11. Jan 7, 2018 at 11:34 PM
    #11
    James schultheiss

    James schultheiss [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Member:
    #2077
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alan
    Vehicle:
    2004 jeep.rubicon
    Lifted,intake. Superchip.
    Thanks I think this is the best way to trouble.shoot anything on a jeep.
     
    JKBob 25 likes this.
  12. Aug 7, 2018 at 11:22 AM
    #12
    corderm

    corderm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #2495
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
    Does your odometer still work? I had the same code with my speedo going out. Mechanic said that it was not the speed sensor, since the odometer still worked. He said that the speedometer itself went bad and needed to be rebuilt (they don't make replacements anymore) with a total repair cost of about $500.
     
  13. Aug 7, 2018 at 12:34 PM
    #13
    aggrex

    aggrex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Member:
    #203
    Messages:
    1,839
    DE
    Vehicle:
    Backcountry '16
    Tuffy>AEV>TTO>JW>STech>EVOcage>MagnaFlow>SpiderTrax>RockHard>TF>SpringTail>67design>Bolt>GPCA>Curt>
    Welcome @corderm . Is your Rubi up and running after paying that bill? Start a new thread to post up a bit about yourself and any upgrades made to your Jeep
     
    chris4x4 likes this.
  14. Aug 7, 2018 at 12:50 PM
    #14
    Awrench

    Awrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Member:
    #2303
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    3 jeeps
    Manual or automatic?

    there are NO other codes? scan and post all

    have you run a cluster ck?

    you are using a professional scanner?

    vehicle is STOCK no added aftermarket BS? just as jeep built it?

    disregard.
    I see a superchip - good luck.
     

    Attached Files:

To Top