1. Welcome to Jeeps.net!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Jeep discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Jeep owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I am new to the forem and am desperate for some advice on my 98 TJ wrangler. It is a 4 cyl stan....

Discussion in 'Wrangler TJ (1996-2006)' started by wacherone, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Jul 21, 2020 at 3:20 PM
    wacherone

wacherone [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tim
    Vehicle:
    98 wrangler, standard 4 cyl, TJ.
    I went to start my 98 wrangler TJ, 4 cyl. standard. It seems as though the starter made it into a "half way" position and got stuck. I unbolted the starter, greased the gear area and re-attached it and it started right up. A couple starts later, it did it again. I went out and purchased a new starter/sel and once again, it started right up. A couple starts later...same thing. Since then, I have replaced the starter relay, checked the fuses and the wiring all seems secure. The battery is less than a year old but I did a charge on it anyways and it still will not even click. I sure could use some advice...I purchased a new neutral safety switch but can't seem to even locate it at all the locations described on line....

2. Jul 21, 2020 at 6:19 PM
    aggrex

aggrex Well-Known Member

Member:
    DE
    Vehicle:
    Backcountry '16
    Tuffy>AEV>TTO>JW>STech>EVOcage>MagnaFlow>SpiderTrax>RockHard>TF>SpringTail>67design>Bolt>GPCA>Curt>