1. Welcome to Jeeps.net!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Jeep discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Jeep owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Leaf Spring Lift XJ

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by XJ1998g, Feb 24, 2017.

1. Feb 24, 2017 at 7:01 PM
    XJ1998g

XJ1998g [OP] New Member

Member:
    I am New to lifts and this forum. I have a 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ

I had a 2 inch lift done. Now i sit 19 1/2 front and 18 1/2 in rear. Found out that they say stock height is 17 1/2 front and 17 in rear.

The lift was a bb with hats in front and shackles in back. The ride i have is good no vibes etc.

I feel i could use some new leaf springs in the rear because i do tow a trailer once in awhile.

Question is if I get New Heavy Duty leafs would it lift me a little ( say 1/2 to 1 inch?) compared to standard leaf springs?
    I know it is not much but i do want new leafs and if it picked it up it would be a bonus.

Now my other question is do shackles lower the life of a leaf spring?

Or should i get a .75 shackle lift found at rustys and a 2" lift leaf spring instead? might that mess up my angle and cause vibe?

2. Feb 24, 2017 at 7:27 PM
    OFFGRID

OFFGRID Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Peter
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    1979 Jeep CJ7, 258, TH350, NP208
    Howell fuel injection, header, HEI distributor, TH350, NP208, SOA lift with YJ springs in the front & GW springs in the Rear. AMC20 with G2 1 piece chromos trussed, Dana 30 with G2 chromos and 760x ujoints and MM Stainless Hubs, Geared 4.56. Tom Woods shafts, Metal cloaks, Caged, 37" Toyo MTs.